About the American Board of Dental Sleep Medicine

Established in 2004, the American Board of Dental Sleep Medicine (ABDSM) is an independent, nonprofit, self-designated board certifying licensed dentists who treat sleep-related breathing disorders. The ABDSM designates an individual who it certifies as a Diplomate of the American Board of Dental Sleep Medicine.

The purpose of the ABDSM is to test knowledge and clinical proficiency in dental sleep medicine, which includes oral appliances and upper airway surgery to treat sleep-related breathing disorders such as snoring, upper airway resistance syndrome (UARS) and obstructive sleep apnea (OSA). It does not represent a new specialty of dentistry or medicine, nor does it grant or imply any legal qualification, privilege or license to practice. Rather, it simply recognizes those dentists duly licensed by law who have successfully completed the certification requirements established by the ABDSM.

ABDSM Board of Directors Mission, Vision, and Values


Ronald Prehn, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
President Elect
Katherine Phillips, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
Jennifer Le, DMD, Diplomate, ABDSM
Immediate Past President
Steven Scherr, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
B. Gail Demko, DMD, Diplomate, ABDSM
Richard Dunn, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
Donald Farquhar, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM

Any correspondence to the members of the Board of Directors should be directed through the ABDSM National Office.